Home Breaking Strike: ASUU Constitutes 7-man Committee To Defend Union

Strike: ASUU Constitutes 7-man Committee To Defend Union

THE Academic Staff Union of Universities, ASUU, has constituted a seven-man committee to defend the union’s position and refusal to suspend the ongoing strike that is getting to seven months.

The committee is expected to respond to any criticisms in the media against the alleged adamant posture of the university teachers to suspend the strike.

iDeemlawful understands this is coming after alleged hard stance of ASUU appears to be attracting negative reactions and sad commentary by a cross section of Nigerians, who felt that the strike has lingered for too long and should be suspended in the interest of the students.

Following the alleged negative reactions from the public and the bashing ASUU is receiving for not suspending the strike, the union has contituted a seven member committee to respond to any perceived attack on irs position.

Place Your Adverts Here

The National President of ASUU, Prof. Emmanuel Osadeke has written to Prof. Ade Adejumo of the Lagos State University of Technology, LAUTEC, who is the Convener to counter any media report that may be against the interest of the union.

The letter dated 1st September with the title, “Constitution of Rapid Response Committee”, told members that their commitment towards the execution of the assignment would be appreciated.

The letter read: “The Academic Staff Union of Unuversities (ASUU) is at a very critical stage of its struggle towards the survival of public universities in Nigeria. It has been observed that a lot of media propaganda to misinform and malign the union is ongoing. The union appreciated your efforts in responding to this media war.

“The trustees and principal officers of the union decided to constitute a rapid response committee to immediately respond to various media publications, opinions, interviews etc, that may be against the interest of the union.”

The members according to the letter are Prof. Ade Adejumo (LAUTEC), Convener, Prof. Joseph A. Ushie (UNIUYO), member, Prof. Abdulgafar Amoka (ABU), member, Dr. Adelaja Odukoya (UNILAG), member, Dr. Taiwo Obateru (UNIJOS), member, Dr. Otu Otu Akanu (AE-FUNAI), member and and Prof. Victor Igbum (BSU), Secretary.

“Your commitment to this assignment as in the time past will be greatly appreciated,” it concluded.

[carousel_slide id='8496']
Whatsapp Telegram

Advert Inquiries & Submission of News report or Articles

Articles and News Report: Info@ideemlawful.com or deemlawful@gmail.com

For your Adverts, Banner Placement, Publicity, Press Releases, Promotions, Special Reports, Featured Stories, Events Coverage, Conferences, Interviews, And So On.

Info@ideemlawful.com or 09093862098 (whatsapp only)

Previous articleFG Freshly Slams ASUU, Insists On “No-Work-No-Pay” Policy
Next articleWhatsApp Roll Out Feature To Allow Group Admins Delete Anyone’s Messages, Others


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here